Editing datasets using a working copy

Please note that working copies only exist when in the classic publishing experience.

The difference between the Published copy and Working copy of a dataset

One of the core principles of the Publishing Workflow is that all datasets now have two states - "Published" and "Working Copy". The Published version is the one you show to the rest of the world, while the Working Copy is the one that's reserved for you and your collaborators to make edits on. In order to make modifications to your datasets, you'll need to make them against the Working Copy and then republish them back to the Published version. For details on the concepts behind the Publishing Workflow, see "An Overview of the Publishing Workflow".

Creating a working copy

The steps to create a Working Copy, make modifications, and then republish them to the world are as follows:

  1. Browse to the dataset, either to the data table or its Primer Page. Using the Action Bar select Edit. If your dataset has certain datatypes (document, photo, percent) the dataset will automatically create a working copy. Otherwise, you will be taken to a revision in the new data publishing experience. There will be a link where you can opt out of this and create a working copy instead.
  2. Make whatever changes you'd like to make to your dataset. Since these changes are made against the Working Copy and not against the Published version, you can review your changes and share them internally with others without worrying that they will be available to the public.
  3. When you're done making your changes, click on "Update" in the action bar.. This will make your Working Copy the new Published version and will make the old Published version into a Snapshot. Your changes are now live on your data site.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.