With the Socrata Data Management Experience also comes a new way to manage your assets, the asset action bar. The action bar will appear on a datasets Primer page, the data table, working copies, and revision drafts. This bar will replace the tasks once performed in the Manage tab of the data table and will appear on all assets except Data Lens and drafts of Perspective Stories. It will now be easier to create drafts, share with collaborators, and manage viewers on your assets!
The Action Bar
Below you can see the action bar on a published asset and all of the options that are available using the bar.
1. The Asset Title
The title of your dataset as defined when the asset was created.
When the dataset is published, will show the visibility of the dataset. When unpublished, it will note the asset as a draft.
This option will allow you to either create a draft (when the asset is published) or publish a draft.
When in a published asset, to create a draft, simply click this Edit button. This can be done from either the Primer page or from the Data Table. This is replacing the legacy workflow of selecting the yellow Edit button in the data table.
A change in behavior is derived assets, like the charts, maps, timelines, etc. created in the visualization canvas, will create drafts when clicking the Edit button. This allows for these updates to be staged and reviewed before going through to the published version, much like how dataset publishing operates.
When you are ready to publish, select Publish (for new assets) or Update (for existing ones). Clicking Update will immediately replace the existing asset with your new changes.
4. Manage the Asset
Selecting this menu will bring up several management options. Using this option you can Manage Viewers, which will allow you to switch the dataset between Public and Private. The Transfer Ownership option will allow you to transfer the asset to another Socrata user. And finally, this is where you will now be able to Delete the asset.
Note: With the action bar, stories, maps, etc. can now be transferred from the drop-down menu!
In drafts, your options will be only to either View the published version of the dataset (when applicable) or to delete the draft.
5. Manage Collaborators
The last option in the action bar is to Manage Collaborators. This is where you can add collaborators to the dataset with the access level of Viewer, Contributor or Co-Owner. To do so you can just add the names or email address of the user, the dataset role, and select Add. Note that this field is case-sensitive. Once all of your changes are made just click to Save. There are some changes to these rights which you can read more about here.