Site administrators can disable user accounts using the User Management tool. This is done simply by clicking the menu under Actions, then selecting Disable User. Disabled users remain in the user list, but are greyed out and have a "Disabled" badge to differentiate them from the rest of the user list.
What is the difference between removing a user's role and disabling their account?
Removing a user's role on a domain will remove all permissions associated with their account due to them having that domain role. It will not, however, remove the permissions they have from being owners of assets or shared as collaborators on assets. Disabling a user is a more complete way to remove their access to the site. Disabling a user will prevent them from being able to log in to that domain at all, regardless of whether they own assets.
Anonymous public users can log in to an Open Data domain in order to create and save views on public datasets. With internal data sharing sites within the Enterprise Data Platform, users without a role on the site cannot access any aspect of the site. If a user attempts to log in with their Data & Insights username and password, they will simply be directed to a page that indicates they do not have permission to view the site. Enterprise Data domains do not allow community users to log in.
Admin Access Control
By default, Data & Insights platform admins (Support staff, for example) have access to your site so that they can troubleshoot issues if they arise. Customers using the Enterprise Data Platform can request for this default to be updated so that platform admins must be granted explicit, time-bound access to the site in order to log in.
NOTE: The ability of our Support team to troubleshoot issues will be significantly delayed if this feature is enabled, especially if there is a need for engineering investigation.
If you would like this feature enabled on your site, please reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org or to your account team to begin the process.