What is Approvals?
Approvals is a feature that allows administrators to moderate the public release of assets created by users on your domain. The "Approval Queue" refers to the user interface for the intermediate state between when a user has submitted an asset for approval and when an Approver has endorsed the asset for public release. While an asset is in the Approval Queue, Approvers can review the data and metadata to determine if it is ready to be released. By default, only Site Administrators can review and approve submissions, so the Approval Queue is only accessible to these users. To either configure approvals settings, approve assets, or both, navigate to the Approvals page at Administration > Approvals.
How Do I Configure My Approval Policy?
An "Approval Policy" allows you to select whether to automatically approve all assets submitted for public release or to require manual approval by an Approver. Select your preferred Approval Policy by navigating to Administration > Approvals > Settings.
You can then edit your settings by clicking on Edit and choosing your policy. Click Save to save your settings.
How do Assets get Added to the Approval Queue?
When an asset is published as Public for the first time, it will be sent to the Approval Queue. It will also be sent to the queue if the asset’s visibility is changed from Private to Public.
If you have selected to require manual approval for either Official or Community assets, then you also have the option to require subsequent asset updates to go through the Approval Queue as well.
How do I Approve or Reject an Asset?
Navigate to Administration > Approvals. Any assets awaiting approval will appear under the "My Queue" tab. In order to Approve or Reject an asset, click on "Approve" or "Reject" under the Actions column.
How do I Find Previously Reviewed Assets?
To find a previously reviewed asset, you can access the Activity Log and filter for "Approvals" events (i.e Approval approved for public audience or Asset Rejected for public Audience.)
You can also access this by using the Approval History link at the bottom of the screen.
What if I Accidentally Reject an Asset I meant to Approve, or Vice Versa?
- If you rejected an asset that should be approved, you can resubmit the asset by setting its viewers to public.
- If you approved an asset that should be rejected, set the viewers of the asset to private.
- You can read more about changing viewers here.
What Happens if an Asset is Rejected because the Asset Owner Needs to Make Changes?
The Approver can add a note to their rejection decision—such as “hide Address column"—for the asset owner to review in the notification email that is sent to them upon rejection. The asset owner can then make the requested changes and resubmit the asset into the Approval Queue by setting its Audience to Public.
How do Asset Owners Know if One of their Assets is in the Queue?
When viewing assets in the asset list, asset owners can look at their "My Assets" tab and check the visibility of each asset using the Audience column. Assets in the approval queue awaiting a decision will have a listed Audience of “Private (Awaiting approval)”. Asset owners will also be able to use an “Awaiting approval” quick-filter checkbox on the asset list to view only assets that are currently awaiting review by an Approver.