Executive Insights: Admin Guide


With new self-service capabilities, Executive Insights allows administrators to shape a dashboard experience that fits the needs of their organization. Use collections, permissions, and curated content to give each audience the right level of information and control.

Administrators can manage:

  • Collections: Organize dashboard cards, adjust their settings, apply shared filters, and remove content that is no longer useful.

  • Access: Decide whether a collection is available broadly or only to selected people and roles.

  • Permissions: Give users the ability to view, collaborate on, or own a collection.

  • Audience experiences: Build distinct dashboard experiences for leaders, departments, regions, or other groups.

Note: Your Executive Insights app may have a different name depending on the Tyler system your organization uses and the source of your data. If you are working within a Public Safety environment, this product is called Performance Dashboard. The guidance in this article applies regardless of the product name shown.

Managing Collections

The Executive Insights dashboard includes out-of-the-box collections that organize related metrics into high-level categories.

Site Administrators have access to all out-of-the-box collections and metric cards. They have the ability to restructure the dashboard for all users, customize collections based on the organization’s needs, and define collection-specific viewing and editing access for users and roles.

Non-admin users can only view and edit the collections and metric cards they have access to. Any user, regardless of their roles, can create a new collection. They can then share the collection with others.

Entering Edit Mode

When you want to change the default view of a collection so that the changes are visible to others, you'll need to enter Edit mode:

  1. Navigate to the collection you want to edit

  2. Select the Edit button in the upper right corner of the collection

  3. The interface will indicate you're in Edit Mode

enteringeditmode.png

Changing the Default View of a Collection

When changing the default view of a collection, Admins can:

  • Add Content: Browse the Metric Library and add metrics to your collection

  • Edit Cards: Modify the title, description, filters, date ranges, or visualization settings on any card

  • Rearrange Cards: Drag and drop card to reorder them

  • Add Collection-Level Filters: Apply filters that will affect all cards in the collection. When you add a collection filter in Edit Mode, it will persist for all other users who view the collection.

  • Remove Cards: Delete cards that aren’t relevant to this collection’s audience (cards can be re-added from the Metric Library if needed)

  • Add Collection Details: Give the collection a description to add meaningful context for your audience

Note: Changing the default view of a collection will update the collection for everyone with access.

Saving Your Changes:

When you're finished editing:

  1. Click Save to apply your changes

  2. Your changes will be visible to everyone who has access to this collection

Note: Changing the default view of a collection does not create personal saved views. It simply updates the cards within the collection for all users with access.

Understanding the Metric Library

The Metric Library is your source for all available metrics and content. As an Administrator, you have full access to Tyler's complete library of metrics. Any personal views you save are also available there.

Adding Content from the Metric Library:

  1. Enter Edit Mode on a collection

  2. Click Metric Library

  1. The Metric Library will show Tyler default metric cards, your saved views, and collections

  2. Browse or search for the metric you want

  3. Click a card or simply drag it from the library and drop it into the workspace to add it to your collection.

  4. Once a card has been added successfully, a confirmation message will appear.

Note: When you add a metric or saved view from the library to a collection, you're creating an editable copy that's specific to that collection. Changes you make to this copy won't affect the same card in other collections.

Access for Non-Administrators

Users who are not Administrators will only see cards in the Metric Library that have been shared with them through collections. This gives you (the Administrator) control over what content is discoverable by different audiences in your organization.

Understanding Collection Audiences

When setting collection visibility, only Administrators (or in some cases, other custom roles) can make a collection Open to all site users. Viewers can only set a collection audience to Restricted.

Every collection has an audience that determines who can see it:

  • Restricted - Only specific individuals or roles you've added can view the collection

  • Open - All users on the dashboard user list can view the collection

To manage your collection’s audience, you can select the Lock icon or the Collaborate button:

You will then see a window open, where you can select the audience as Restricted or Open. Here, you can share the collection, add specific users or roles, and change access levels for users.

For detailed procedures on sharing collections and assigning collection permissions, please visit: How to Set Up Collection Access

Common Use Cases

Scenario #1: Create a focused dashboard for management or command staff

  • Create a new collection with 3-5 key metrics

  • Set audience to Restricted

  • Add your audience (e.g. Police Chief) as a Viewer

  • Add descriptions to the cards and the collection itself to provide helpful context about how to interpret the metrics

  • Make sure any other collections that you don't want them using also have an audience of Restricted

  • Result: When they log in, they'll only see this focused collection - no more information overload!

Scenario #2: Share standard metrics with everyone, but restrict editing

  • Create a collection with your organization's standard KPIs

  • Set audience to Open

  • By default, you're the Owner and everyone else can only view

  • Result: All users see the collection, but only you can make changes

Scenario #3: Set up pre-filtered collections on behalf of different groups

  • Create a collection with the cards that audience needs

  • While in Edit mode, apply a collection filter to narrow down the data to just that agency, district, etc.

  • Set audience to Restricted

  • Add only the specific users in that audience as Viewers or Collaborators

  • Result: When they log in, users will see pre-filtered content that relates directly to their job without having to learn how to setup their own dashboard

  • Tip: If you need to make many similar collections, you can use the Duplicate button to copy the collection. From there, you’ll just need to change the collection filter and add the right users to the copied collection.

FAQ’s

What do users with a role of Viewer see when they sign in?

Users with a role of Viewer will experience a cleaner, more intuitive dashboard with Edit Mode that makes it clear when changes affect others. Your Administrator may have curated what collections and cards you can see. You'll still be able to create your own collections and save personal views. When you share collections, you may only share to a Restricted audience (i.e. you can't make your collections Open and available to all other users).

Where are personal saved views kept?

Personal saved views remain in My Views and the Metric Library. Changing the default view of a collection does not replace or create a personal view.

Can an administrator remove a collection?

Yes. Owners can delete collections, including collections they no longer need. Out-of-the-box content remains available in the Metric Library if it is needed again.

How can I stop someone from editing a collection?

Give that person Viewer access. They can explore with personal filters but cannot update or share the collection.

Can different groups have different collections?

Yes. Create separate Restricted collections and add only the users or roles intended for each audience.

What can Collaborators change?

Collaborators can update the collection, share it with Viewers or Collaborators, and change its audience setting. Owners retain control over Owner access and deletion.

How can I verify a user’s experience?

Use View As from the user list to inspect a read-only version of the dashboard as that user sees it.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.