- Understanding Collection Audiences
- Understanding Collection Permissions
- How to Share a Collection
- Adding, Changing, or Removing Specific Users or Roles
- FAQ
- Resources
Understanding Collection Audiences
Every collection has an audience that determines who can see it:
Restricted - Only specific individuals or roles you've added can view the collection
Open - All users on the dashboard user list can view the collection
When setting collection visibility, only Administrators (or in some cases, other custom roles) can make a collection Open to all site users. Viewers can only set a collection audience to Restricted.
Understanding Collection Permissions
When you share a collection, you can assign different permission levels to individuals or roles:
Permission level |
Access |
|---|---|
Viewer |
Can view the collection and apply personal filters Cannot edit or share it |
Collaborator |
Can edit and share the collection Cannot delete it |
Owner |
Can edit, share, and delete the collection |
How to Share a Collection
To manage your collection’s audience, you can select the Lock icon or the Collaborate button:
Then you will see the following window open.
Here, you can share the collection, add specific users or roles, and change access levels for users.
Adding, Changing, or Removing Specific Users or Roles
If you selected a Restricted audience:
Select Add a user
In the sharing dialog, start typing the name of a user or role. You can include multiple email addresses
Select the user or role from the dropdown then click Add
Choose their permission level (Viewer, Collaborator, or Owner)
Repeat for additional users or roles. Then select Save when finished
If you selected an Open audience:
Click Add a user. Then in the sharing dialog, start typing the name of a user or role
Select the user or role from the dropdown
Click Add
Choose their permission level (Collaborator or Owner)
Repeat for additional users or roles and click Save when finished
To change or remove access for an existing user or role, open the collection and click Collaborate. Find the user or role in the list, then use the available options to manage access:
Choose/change permission level - Use the dropdown menu to assign or update permissions to Viewer, Collaborator, or Owner.
Remove access - Click the X icon to the right of the user to remove their access to the collection.
Transfer ownership - Reassign ownership of the collection to another user.
Note: If the Open audience option is unavailable, your role may not have permission to make collections visible to all users.
FAQ's
Is there some way to confirm that a user can see only the content I intended to share with them?
Yes! From the user list, you can View As that user to see a view-only version of the dashboard as that user sees it.
What happens to my access after I transfer ownership of a collection to someone else?
After transferring ownership, you will continue to be able to access the collection as a Collaborator. You cannot remove yourself from the user list, but the new owner can do so.
Can I have multiple Owners on a collection?
Yes! Collections can have multiple Owners. Each Owner has full control to edit, share, and delete the collection.
Can I prevent users from editing collections I've created?
Yes. When you share a collection, assign users as Viewers rather than Collaborators or Owners. Viewers can see and explore the collection but cannot make changes to it.
What if I want different users to see completely different collections on their dashboard?
You have full flexibility to create curated experiences:
Create separate collections for different audiences
Set each collection to Restricted
Add only the specific users or roles who should see each collection
Each user will see only the collections they have access to, creating a personalized dashboard experience.
Can Collaborators change who has access to a collection?
Yes. Collaborators can add other Viewers or Collaborators and can change the audience from Restricted to Open or vice versa. However, only Owners can add or remove other Owners, or delete the collection.
Comments
Article is closed for comments.