The focus of this major release is empowering more users from government organizations to collaborate on Data Lens pages. By doing so, organizations can scale, increase internal participation on publishing visualizations, and get more useful visualizations in the hands of citizens. This in turn makes it that much easier for citizens to quickly and easily derive information from published data.
Along with several new features, we’re also making some important changes to the Data Lens creation and publishing workflow, and permissioning. Data Lens will behave much more like other views such as charts and maps.
*NOTE: For customers with Routing and Approval enabled, where a dataset must be approved before showing in the public catalog, these new features are supported as of 10/22/2015.
All Users with Domain Roles can Create Data Lens Pages
Previously, only publishers and administrators could curate Data Lens pages and there was a limit of just one Data Lens page per dataset. This restricted the number of users in an organization who can take advantage of the Data Lens functionality. We have now opened up the rights to create Data Lens pages to all users with domain roles, i.e. Viewer, Editor, Designer, in addition to Publishers and Administrators. We have also removed the limit of one Data Lens page per dataset, so that users can create different Data Lens pages on top of the same dataset that are targeted to visualize different information. Our research has shown that citizens are 30% more effective at extracting information from Data Lens when there are fewer cards on the page.
We added the “Data Lens” option to the Visualize pane on the dataset page. Users with the appropriate rights will see that option to create Data Lens pages. For more details, please see the Curating a Data Lens Page article on the Socrata Knowledge Base.
In addition to being discoverable in the catalog, users can also navigate to Data Lens pages via the "More Views" pane on the dataset page.
We added a new “Manage” button to the Data Lens info pane as the entry point for managing Data Lens permissions.
Sharing and Collaborating on Data Lens with Other Users
Previously, only publishers and administrators could see Data Lens pages that are not yet in the public catalog. This limited the amount of Data Lens pages that could be published since users were not able to effectively collaborate as they do with other views.
Now users can share Data Lens pages with other users on the site and grant them co-owner, contributor and viewer rights as they can with other views. Data Lens will also inherit rights that have been granted on the source dataset.
For more details see the Share And Assign Permissions For Datasets And Views and Understanding User Roles in the Socrata Knowledge Base.
Known Issue: When a Data Lens page is shared with another user, the user must also have permissions to view the source dataset, i.e. minimally viewer rights on the datasets. If not, the user will see an error message while trying to access the Data Lens page.
Changes to Data Lens Permissions
Previously, when a Data Lens page is created on top of a dataset that is public, the Data Lens’s permission can be either private or public. Effective as of the 10/16/2015 release, Data Lens pages will inherit permissions from the permission of the source dataset. Data Lens page permissions can only be altered by changing the permission of the source dataset.
Changes to Data Lens Publishing Workflow
Previously, publishers and administrators controlled whether a Data Lens page is visible in the catalog by toggling the Data Lens permission field between private and public. Effective as of the 10/16/2015 release, publisher and administrators will use the “visibility” field if their site does not have view moderation enabled.
For sites with view moderation enabled, publishers and administrators will use view moderation to manage Data Lens visibility in the public catalog
Delete Data Lens Pages
Data Lens pages can now be deleted so that users can remove Data Lens pages that are no longer needed. The “delete” button is enabled for users with the appropriate rights in the list view in the public catalog, the admin catalog or the profile page.
Similar to deleting views, publishers, admins as well as users with owner and contributor rights to the Data Lens can delete it. Refer to Understanding User Roles in the Socrata Knowledge Base on rights to modify and delete.